“Oho Ake Mauri Ora” – Building Māori Capacity in Psychiatry

The Henry Rongomau Bennett Memorial Scholarship programme was instrumental in increasing numbers of practicing Māori psychiatrists, supporting 10 psychiatrists in total from 2002-2010. The first Māori Psychiatric Registrars who received support from the Henry Rongomau Bennett Memorial Scholarship were (1) Hinemoa Elder (2) Donna Clarke (3) Mark Lawrence (4) Thomas Ricket (5) Cameron Lacey In … Read more

Growing the Māori Occupational Therapy Workforce

In 2008, two percent of the registered Occupational Therapy workforce identified as Māori. With the leadership of Jane Hopkirk (Ngati Kahungungu) and her Occupational Therapy colleagues, Te Rau Matatini launched the first Māori Occupational Therapy Strategy. Its purpose to encourage more Māori to enter the profession and to stay working in Occupational Therapy. The strategy … Read more